Fonts size A A A
Share with Facebook Share with Twitter Share with Google+ Share on LinkedIn Share by Email

Flipping Over Hong Kong

Flip the cards for more interesting facts about Hong Kong.

Fun Trivia A-Z

Hong Kong, from amazing to zany ... enjoy our A-Z of Fun Trivia in Asia's world city.

  • A-C

    Art Basel in Hong Kong

    Art Basel in Hong Kong

    Art Basel in Hong Kong is central to Asia's international art scene, offering a premier platform for renowned artists and galleries. Held annually at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the event showcases an eclectic palette of quality art from East and West all under one big roof.

    Bauhinia

    Bauhinia

    The Bauhinia x blakeana, whose magnificent blooms brighten the city in the winter months, is the official flower of Hong Kong. Botanists believe that all Bauhinia x blakeana trees in Hong Kong derive from one tree at the Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens.

    Bun Festival

    Bun Festival

    The Bun Festival is a traditional Chinese festival on the tiny island of Cheung Chau in Hong Kong. It is staged to mark the Eighth day of the Fourth Month, in the Chinese calendar (usually in early May) and coincides with the local celebration of Buddha's Birthday.

    Big Buddha

    Big Buddha

    Big Buddha, or Tian Tan Buddha, can be found on Lantau Island. In fact, it is difficult to miss! Reaching 34 metres high and weighing 250 tonnes, it is one of the world's largest seated outdoor bronze Buddhas and a favourite with tourists.

    The new Central harbourfront

    The new Central harbourfront

    From popular international cultural, sports and tourism events, to relaxing picnics and outdoor yoga, the iconic harbourfront site offers an open-air activity space with unrivaled views of the Hong Kong skyline and the Victoria Harbour.

  • D-F

    Dim Sum

    Dim Sum

    Dim sum is a style of Chinese cuisine prepared as small bite-sized portions of food. Hong Kong offers some of the most affordable Michelin-starred dishes, such as delicious dim sum for just US$2.

    Ding ding (tram)

    Ding ding (tram)

    “Ding ding” is the sound of Hong Kong’s popular and historic trams that have been operating since 1904. They are also world’s largest double-decked trams and still carry around 172,100 passengers every day along the northern part of Hong Kong Island.

    Dragon Boat Festival

    Dragon Boat Festival

    The Dragon Boat Festival, or Tuen Ng, is a splashing good time in Hong Kong, the birthplace of modern dragon boat racing. The festival is said to originate from drowning death of an ancient courtier, when people splashed the water to keep the fish away from his body.

    Egg Tart

    Egg Tart

    The egg tart, a Western influenced Cantonese dessert, is a popular offering at Hong Kong bakeries and teashops (cha chaan teng) especially for afternoon tea. They are best enjoyed piping hot from the oven and washed down with a cup of sweetened HK-style "silk stocking" milk tea.

    Father of Fibre Optics

    Father of Fibre Optics

    Professor Charles Kao, a former Vice-Chancellor of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, who won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2009, is widely regarded as the "Father of Fibre Optic Communications". Without fibre optics, we wouldn't have the Internet or email, Facebook or Twitter!

    Formula E

    Formula E

    Formula E HKT Hong Kong E-Prix is one of Formula E’s most iconic races. Held along the Hong Kong Central Harbourfront every year, it is the first ePrix held in Asia to secure double-header status. HK ePrix fans are able to enjoy all the action in the E Village zone for free.

    Four seasons

    Four seasons

    Hong Kong has four seasons: winters are short and chilly, summers are hot and humid, spring and autumn are just right!

  • G-I

    Great outdoors

    Great outdoors

    Outlying islands, quaint villages, sandy beaches and undulating mountain paths present a lesser-known view of Hong Kong, away from the city centre. Here people love to go cycling, hiking and get close to nature.

    Geopark

    Geopark

    Located in the eastern part of Hong Kong, Hong Kong UNESCO Global Geopark is a single entity where sites and landscapes of international significance, including the hexagonal rock columns in Sai Kung, are holistically managed with the support of local communities and other geopark stakeholders.

    HK International Airport

    HK International Airport

    Hong Kong International Airport has two runways and operates 1,100 flights daily. It is connected to about 220 destinations worldwide by more than 100 airlines. It is one of the world’s busiest air cargo hubs and has garnered over 70 “World Best Airport” awards.

    Ice-cream vans

    Ice-cream vans

    First imported in 1970, there are now just 14 original Mister Softee vans selling the popular ice-cream. Did you know that Mister Softee's Hong Kong operation was renamed Mobile Softee in 2010?

    Intangible Cultural Heritage

    Intangible Cultural Heritage

    480 items are listed in the Intangible Cultural Heritage inventory of Hong Kong. Domains include oral traditions and expressions; performing arts; social practices, rituals and festive events; knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe; and traditional craftsmanship.

  • J-L

    Jockey Club

    Jockey Club

    The Hong Kong Jockey Club is a world-class horse racing body and a leading charitable organisation, providing some sports betting services and managing the Mark Six lottery. Race courses at Sha Tin and Happy Valley host approximately 800 races per year. The LONGINES Hong Kong International Races, which is the most prestigious of Hong Kong’s international Group 1 races, is held in December every year.

    Kai Tak Cruise Terminal

    Kai Tak Cruise Terminal

    The ultra-modern Kai Tak Cruise Terminal, capable of handling the world's largest cruise vessels, is helping to establish Hong Kong as a premier cruise hub in the region.

    Lo Wu Control Point and Lok Ma Chau Spur Line Control Point

    Lo Wu Control Point and Lok Ma Chau Spur Line Control Point

    Lo Wu Control Point and Lok Ma Chau Spur Line Control Point between Hong Kong and the Mainland of China are among the busiest land boundary control points in Hong Kong, with more than 380,000 people crossing daily.

    Liantang/Heung Yuen Wai Boundary Control Point

    Liantang/Heung Yuen Wai Boundary Control Point

    The new Liantang/Heung Yuen Wai Boundary Control Point (BCP) is the first land-based BCP in Hong Kong with direct access facilities for both passengers and vehicles. It is a cross-boundary link to the east of Shenzhen, providing efficient access to and from the eastern part of Shenzhen, Huizhou, eastern parts of Guangdong and neighbouring provinces.

  • M-O

    MTR

    MTR

    The super-efficient MTR carries more than 5.5 million people every day.

    Marathon

    Marathon

    The Standard Chartered Hong Kong Marathon is a signature international sporting event in Hong Kong, attracting about 74,000 runners in 2018. Apart from the race, it is committed to serving the community and supporting different charitable causes.

    MIT Innovation Node

    MIT Innovation Node

    MIT’s Hong Kong Innovation Node opened in 2016. It is building long-term value by enriching the educational experiences of MIT and Hong Kong students in key areas of practical innovation including entrepreneurship, making, and rapid scale-up of prototypes.

    Nightview

    Nightview

    The Peak and A Symphony of Lights provide an amazing night view in Hong Kong. The Peak, the highest point on Hong Kong Island, offers stunning panoramic views, and relaxing nature walks. Lights come alive with the world's largest permanent sound and light show (Guinness World Records), with laser beams and searchlights streaming from more than 40 buildings on both sides of Victoria Harbour every evening.

    Octopus

    Octopus

    An Octopus card can be used to pay for almost all public transport in Hong Kong and even to settle payments at many retail, dining and convenience stores.

  • P-R

    Poon choi

    Poon choi

    Poon choi or “basin food” is a traditional dish originating in the Hakka walled villages of the New Territories. Combining more than 10 ingredients cooked separately and arranged in layers in large metal bowls or wooden basins, a good-sized poon choi can feed 10 to 12 people at festive tables.

    Qipao

    Qipao

    Qipao or "Cheongsam" is a traditional tight-fitting Chinese dress, which sometimes described as being like a wonderful blossom in China's bright-colored fashion scene. Because of its unique charm, many women wear it to show their special grace.

    Rugby Sevens

    Rugby Sevens

    Hong Kong Rugby Sevens is one of the most popular annual sporting events in Asia. It attracts some of the world’s greatest rugby players and thousands of fans from every corner of the globe to the magnificent Hong Kong Stadium.

    R&D

    R&D

    The Hong Kong Government is dedicated to promoting research and development (R&D). We have set a target to double the Gross Domestic Expenditure on R&D to about $45 billion a year (i.e. equivalent to 1.5% of GDP) by 2022. To encourage enterprises to conduct more R&D activities, we will provide super tax deduction to qualifying R&D activities conducted in Hong Kong. The first $2 million of qualifying R&D expenditure will enjoy a 300% tax deduction and the remainder at 200%.

  • S-U

    Star Ferry

    Star Ferry

    Dating back to 1880, the Star Ferry offers great views of Hong Kong’s famous skyline. A one-way ticket will set you back just US 34 cents.

    Sky 100

    Sky 100

    Sky100 Hong Kong Observation Deck is located on the 100th floor of International Commerce Centre, the tallest building in Hong Kong. At 393 metres above sea level, it is the only indoor observation deck in Hong Kong offering 360-degree views of the territory and its famous Victoria Harbour.

    Tai O Fishing Village

    Tai O Fishing Village

    Tai O Fishing Village located on the western side of Lantau Island is a quaint and picturesque village, with the traditional stilt houses of the old Southern Chinese fishing villages.

    Tai Kwun

    Tai Kwun

    Tai Kwun - a centre for heritage and arts – is situated at the restored Central Police Station Compound, one of the most significant revitalisation projects in Hong Kong, comprising three declared monuments – the former Central Police Station, Central Magistracy and Victoria Prison.

    Tea

    Tea

    Hong Kong people love their tea and boast the highest tea consumption among all Asian cities at 1,360 grams per capita - twice the world's average. Hong Kong people also enjoy a glass of herbal tea made with exotic blends of traditional herbs.

    Universities

    Universities

    Eight public universities are funded by the University Grants Committee (UGC). Nearly 100,000 students are studying UGC-funded programmes and about 36% of them studied STEM-related programmes in 2016/17.

  • V-X

    Victoria Harbour

    Victoria Harbour

    Flowing between Hong Kong Island and the Kowloon peninsula, Victoria Harbour is the jewel of Hong Kong encircled by a stunning cityscape. A trip on the Star Ferry offers a unique experience in the true heart of Hong Kong, Asia’s world city. Don’t miss the Guinness World Record Symphony of Lights, staged every night at 8pm.

    Wetland Parks

    Wetland Parks

    With 60 hectares of wetland reserve and a 10,000-square metre visitor centre, Hong Kong Wetland Park has received a number of international awards granted by professional organisations, including the Institute of Landscape Architects of UK and the Urban Land Use Institute of USA.

    Wine hub

    Wine hub

    Hong Kong is Asia's premier wine hub and among the top three wine auction centres in the world. In 2008, the government eliminated wine import tariffs, making the city the first free wine port among major economies.

    X-ray

    X-ray

    The Chinese University of Hong Kong has introduced a 3D X-ray machine which can cut radiation exposure by more than half, especially important for children with spinal deformities.

  • Y-Z

    Yachting

    Yachting

    Surrounded by the sea, Hong Kong currently has around eight main marinas that are capable of mooring and serving big yachts. There are also large mooring spaces provided by the government for pleasure yachts. These are known as typhoon shelters. Royal Yacht Club Hong Kong is one of the oldest yacht clubs in the world.

    Zero Carbon Building

    Zero Carbon Building

    Hong Kong's first Zero Carbon Building (ZCB), developed under the collaboration between the Government and the Construction Industry Council, comprises a three-storey building set amidst landscaped surroundings in the heart of Kowloon Bay. The complex deploys over 80 different green building technologies to reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

首页   我的颜色: 颜色1 颜色2
字型大小 A A A
Share with Facebook Share with Weibo Share with Google+ Share with WeChat 以电子邮件分享

翻转香港

翻转卡片了解香港趣事

趣事●乐事

香港不单拥有多姿多彩的都市生活,也有不少的趣闻轶事,就让我们从A至Z,逐一发掘这个亚洲国际都会的可爱之处!

  • A-C

    巴塞尔艺术展香港展会

    巴塞尔艺术展香港展会

    巴塞尔艺术展香港展会是亚洲区瞩目的艺坛盛事,每年均在香港会议展览中心举行,荟萃东西方艺术瑰宝,为知名艺术家和艺廊提供不可多得的平台。

    洋紫荆

    洋紫荆

    在冬季盛放的洋紫荆是香港市花。植物学家相信,香港现有的洋紫荆树均繁衍自香港动植物公园内的同一棵树。

    长洲太平清醮

    长洲太平清醮

    长洲太平清醮是香港长洲居民的中式传统节日,于每年农历四月初八举行(一般在公历五月初),而这天正是香港市民庆祝佛诞的日子。

    天坛大佛

    天坛大佛

    位于大屿山的天坛大佛,高达34米,重250吨,是全球最大的户外青铜座佛之一,亦为香港的著名旅游景点。

    中环新海滨

    中环新海滨

    中环新海滨可饱览无与伦比的香港天际线和维多利亚港开扬景致,更是誉满国际文化体育和旅游盛事举办之地。游人也会到这里野餐或练习瑜伽,放松身心。

  • D-F

    点心

    点心

    来到香港怎能错过美味的中式点心?卖相精致的点心往往令人回味无穷。香港更为大家提供价格实惠,只售约2美元的米芝莲级数廉价点心美食。

    叮叮 (电车)

    叮叮 (电车)

    「叮叮」是香港电车行驶时发出的声音。电车自1904年已开始营运,不单历史悠久,更是全球规模最大的双层电车系统。每日在港岛北地区接载约172,100名乘客,一直以来深受市民欢迎。

    端午节

    端午节

    端午节又名龙舟节,而香港就是现代龙舟比赛的诞生地。传说指端午节是为了纪念战国时期投江自尽的爱国诗人屈原。

    蛋挞

    蛋挞

    一般港式面包店及茶餐厅都可尝到蛋挞,是香港地道小食之一,亦是下午茶的上佳之选。新鲜出炉的蛋挞糅合西式烘焙方法,配上香甜美味的港式丝袜奶茶,确是一大享受。

    光纤之父

    光纤之父

    香港中文大学前校长高锟教授于2009年获颁诺贝尔物理学奖,被誉为「光纤通讯之父」。若没有光纤这项发明,今天根本不会出现互联网或电子邮件,更遑论Facebook或Twitter了!

    电动方程式赛车锦标赛

    电动方程式赛车锦标赛

    每年在香港中环海滨举行的国际汽联香港电动方程式赛车锦标赛香港站赛事,是亚洲区内首个举行双赛事的分站。电动方程式赛车爱好者可以在E Village免费观赏全程精彩刺激的比赛。

    四季

    四季

    香港是一个四季分明的地方:冬季日照时间短而且寒冷,夏季气候炎热而潮湿,而春秋二季则气候宜人。

  • G-I

    多采多姿的户外活动

    多采多姿的户外活动

    离岛、古村、沙滩和山径远离繁嚣,是香港较少为人知晓的自然美景,亦是游人踏单车、远足,或亲近大自然的好去处。

    地质公园

    地质公园

    香港联合国教科文组织世界地质公园是一个位于香港东部的完整范围,并在地区及其他地质公园持份者的支持下,以整全的概念管理公园内具有国际地质价值的地点和景观,包括遍布西贡的六角形岩柱群。

    香港国际机场

    香港国际机场

    现有两条跑道的香港国际机场,每日有1,100班航机升降,由逾100家航空公司提供航空服务,往来全球約220个航点。香港国际机场亦是全球最繁忙的航空货运枢纽之一,曾超过70次荣膺「全球最佳机场」。

    雪糕车

    雪糕车

    于1970年引进香港,现时只剩约14辆原装的富豪雪糕车,继续为大家提供滋味无穷的雪糕。大家知否雪糕车的英文名称,已于2010年由Mister Softee更名为Mobile Softee吗?

    非物质文化遗产

    非物质文化遗产

    现有480个项目列入香港非物质文化遗产清单,项目涵盖口述传统和表现形式、表演艺术、社会实践、仪式、节庆活动、有关自然界和宇宙的知识和实践,以及传统手工艺。

  • J-L

    赛马会

    赛马会

    本地主要的慈善机构──香港赛马会,是世界级赛马组织。除提供体育博彩外,亦负责管理六合彩抽奖。现时沙田和快活谷马场每年举办约800场赛马,而于每年12月举行的《浪琴表香港国际赛事》,更是全球享负盛名的国际一级赛事。

    启德邮轮码头

    启德邮轮码头

    现代化的启德邮轮码头能够停泊世界最大型的邮轮,有助巩固香港作为区内首要邮轮中心的地位。

    罗湖管制站及落马洲支线管制站

    罗湖管制站及落马洲支线管制站

    连接香港与内地两岸的罗湖管制站和落马洲支线管制站,是香港最繁忙的陆路边境管制站,每天处理超过380,000名出入境旅客。

    莲塘/香园围口岸

    莲塘/香园围口岸

    莲塘/香园围口岸不单连接深圳东部过境通道,更是香港首个设有人车直达设施的陆路口岸,为深圳东部、惠州、粤东及邻近省份提供有效率的跨境通道。

  • M-O

    香港铁路

    香港铁路

    香港铁路系统效率超卓,每天载客量逾550万。

    马拉松

    马拉松

    渣打香港马拉松是本港的国际级体育盛事,于2018年吸引了约74,000名跑手参与。竞赛之余,渣打香港马拉松亦致力服务社会,支持不同的慈善团体。

    麻省理工学院的香港创新中心

    麻省理工学院的香港创新中心

    麻省理工学院香港创新中心于2016年开幕,通过该学院的丰富教育经验,有助提升香港学生的实用创新能力,包括创业精神,以及制造和改良产品原型的技术。

    夜景

    夜景

    从太平山顶俯瞰维港夜色,以及欣赏两岸「幻彩咏香江」都是游客不可错过的精彩活动。太平山顶是香港岛最高的山峰,既可饱览醉人景色,又可悠闲漫步,亲近大自然。「幻彩咏香江」每晚在两岸逾40幢建筑物上展示激光和射灯效果,上演全球最大型和已列入健力士世界纪录的灯光音乐汇演。

    八达通

    八达通

    香港近乎所有公共交通工具都接受以八达通缴付车资,市民亦可在零售店、食肆和便利店使用八达通付款。

  • P-R

    盆菜

    盆菜

    盆菜是新界客家围村的传统中菜,采用逾10种食材,经烹调后,逐层放入一个大金属盆或木盆内,每份盘菜足以供10至12人享用。

    旗袍

    旗袍

    旗袍又或称作长衫,是剪裁贴身的中国传统服饰代表作,展现女性优雅动人的一面。

    七人榄球赛

    七人榄球赛

    香港国际七人榄球赛是亚洲其中一项最受欢迎的体育盛事,不单有全球顶尖的榄球健儿来港作赛,更吸引数以万计来自世界各地的球迷前往香港大球场观赛。

    科研

    科研

    香港政府致力推动研发。我们已订下目标,在2022年把研发总开支提升一倍至每年约450亿港元(相等于本地生产总值约1.5%)。为鼓励机构进行更多研发活动,我们会为在港进行的合资格研发活动提供超级税务扣减,首200万港元的合资格研发开支可获300%税务扣减,余额可获200%扣减。

  • S-U

    天星小轮

    天星小轮

    早于1880年投入服务的天星小轮,单程收费只需34美仙,一直为乘客带来无敌海景体验。

    天际100

    天际100

    天际100香港观景台,位于全港最高达海拔393米的环球贸易广场100楼,是全港唯一能以360度鸟瞰不同景观及维港景色的室内观景台。

    大澳渔村

    大澳渔村

    大澳渔村位于大屿山西面,水道交错,古色古香,风光如画,现时仍保留着华南渔村的棚屋。

    大馆

    大馆

    大馆─古迹及艺术馆,前身为中区警署建筑群,是香港最重要的历史古迹活化項目之一。大馆建筑群包括三项法定古迹,即前中区警署、中央裁判司署和域多利监狱。

    茶

    香港人喜爱饮茶,人均茶叶消耗量年达1,360克,为亚洲之冠,亦为全球人均茶叶消耗量的两倍。香港人亦爱由不同传统中草药熬制而成的凉茶。

    大学

    大学

    由大学教育资助委员会(教资会)拨款资助的八所专上学院课程,于2016/17学年有近100,000名学生修读,当中约36%修读与STEM相关的课程。

  • V-X

    维多利亚港

    维多利亚港

    维多利亚港位处港岛与九龙半岛之间,两岸的景观迷人璀璨,诚是香港的明珠。这里是香港的心脏地带,乘坐渡海小轮畅游期间,更能体验亚洲国际都会的魅力。还有,大家切勿错过每晚8时上演并已列入健力士世界纪录的「幻彩咏香江」大型灯光音乐汇演。

    湿地公园

    湿地公园

    香港湿地公园拥有占地约60公顷的湿地保护区,以及总面积达10,000平方米的访客中心。香港湿地公园荣获海外专业团体所颁发的多项大奬,包括英国园境师学会及美国城市土地学会。

    葡萄酒枢纽

    葡萄酒枢纽

    香港为亚洲主要葡萄酒的贸易枢纽,同时是世界三大葡萄酒拍卖中心之一。政府于2008年取消征收葡萄酒的入口关税后,自此香港成为首个葡萄酒免税港的主要经济体。

    X光

    X光

    香港中文大学引入3D医学影像系统,令病人所受的辐射量较传统X光检测减少逾半,而脊椎变形的儿童也成为最大受惠者。

  • Y-Z

    帆船活动

    帆船活动

    香港四面环海,现时除政府避风塘为大型游艇提供大型系泊泊位外,另有约8个游艇会同时提供系泊设备和可停泊大型游艇。香港游艇会是全球最早成立的游艇会之一。

    零碳天地

    零碳天地

    零碳天地是香港首座零碳建筑,是政府和建造业议会携手合作的项目,坐落于九龙湾心脏地带,楼高3层,采用80多项绿色建筑技术,以减低温室气体排放。