15 Jul, 2015 12:7 HKT
32°C 75%
Fonts size A A A

Hong Kong Heritage - A Look Back

The special blend of East and West gives Hong Kong a unique heritage and cultural identity. 

Called “Fragrant Harbour” in Cantonese because of the sandalwood incense sellers once common along its docks, Hong Kong Island was dismissed as a “barren rock” some 170 years ago by Lord Palmerston, then British Foreign Secretary. The island was ceded to Britain in 1842 and, within 60 years, Kowloon, the New Territories and the Outlying Islands were also leased to Britain.

Hong Kong’s history before the arrival of the British was a story of clans, pirates and traders. More than 100 archaeological sites attest to human habitation dating back to at least the late Stone Age. 

In the tumultuous years since then, this “barren rock” has been transformed from a sleepy collection of 20 or so villages into a dynamic metropolis of gleaming skyscrapers that form one of the world’s most iconic skylines and reflect Hong Kong’s status as “Asia’s world city”. 

Hong Kong has more than 100 declared monuments and nearly 1 000 buildings have been earmarked for preservation. The Antiquities and Monuments Office works to protect, conserve and revitalise Hong Kong’s historical and heritage sites and buildings.

首页   我的颜色: 颜色1 颜色2
字型大小 A A A
Share with Facebook Share with Weibo Share with Google+ Share with WeChat 以电子邮件分享

香港古迹 - 回顾历史

香港中西荟萃,拥有独一无二的历史文化。

顾名思义,「香港」的意思是「芬香的海港」。名字的由来相信是因为香港早年出口香木。香港岛在170年前被当时的英国外相巴麦尊视为「荒地」。1842年,香港岛割让给英国,随后的60年,九龙、新界和离岛均租让给英国。

香港在英国殖民者到来之前,以氏族、海盗和商人的历史为主。香港在石器时代晚期已开始有人类活动,有超过100个考古遗址。

经过一个多世纪的洗礼,当年的「荒地」由20来个小村庄演变成现在活力澎湃的大都市,鳞次栉比的摩天大厦构成世界上最经典的天际线之一,彰显香港作为「亚洲国际都会」的地位。

香港有超过110个法定古迹和预留保存1000幢楼宇。古物古迹办事处致力保护、保育及活化香港的历史、文物古迹及建筑。

修订日期: 2018年3月23日