Fonts size A A A
Share with Facebook Share with Twitter Share with Google+ Share on LinkedIn Share by Email

Arts & Culture

Centre of Arts and Culture

Hong Kong, where the cultures of the East and West mesh, is a thriving arts and cultural hub.

Chinese and Western orchestras, jazz ensembles, film and arts festivals, international acts and local super stars offer an exciting cultural calendar.

Festivals like the signature Hong Kong Arts Festival, Le French May and the Fringe Festival draw the best talent and productions from around the world.

The West Kowloon Cultural District, taking shape on reclaimed land overlooking Victoria Harbour, is one of the world's largest cultural projects. The new cultural quarter, which will have a variety of arts and cultural facilities, will raise Hong Kong's profile as a prominent centre of arts and culture.

This is Our Hong Kong. Why not make it Yours?

“Where East meets West”

An ancient Chinese art form is gaining a new generation of fans. Chloe Ng Brossard Yee Tsing is one of them. The 14-year-old girl was drawn to Cantonese Opera as a toddler. She made her stage debut at the age of three, in a performance of the opera Dai Nui Fa, or the story of Princess Cheungping, in Vancouver, Canada. In 2010, at age nine, she wowed audiences at the Shanghai World Expo.

Cantonese Opera has flourished in Hong Kong and is the first of Hong Kong's cultural traditions to be officially inscribed on UNESCO's Representative List of Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity.

Cantonese Opera is performed in magnificent bamboo theatres in Hong Kong's villages, and in historic buildings like the Yau Ma Tei Theatre (the only surviving pre-World War II theatre in Kowloon District) and Red Brick Building, (built in 1895), also in Yau Ma Tei, which opened as a Cantonese Opera performance venue in 2012.

The Xiqu Centre, taking shape in the West Kowloon Cultural District, will play a key role in the development of Cantonese Opera in Hong Kong and the overall development of Chinese traditional theatre, linking its long legacy to the present. The Xiqu Centre will be the first state-of-the art venue to open in Hong Kong's emerging cultural hub and will set a new global benchmark for Chinese opera venues.

“Chloe was quite naturally introduced to Cantonese Opera by me, as I would listen to opera when Chloe was still a toddler,” says her mother, Samantha.

“One day she surprised me by singing back one of the songs. Her father suggested I should teach her more about Cantonese Opera. Later, some friends who heard her sing invited Chloe to sing during the annual Chinese New Year dinner in Vancouver.”

When they moved to Hong Kong in 2006, Chloe started formal training at a school of Chinese Opera.

“With a French father and Chinese mother, I live the cultures of East and West. I am fascinated by the art and theatre of Cantonese Opera – not just its rich heritage but also the makeup, costumes and drama,” she says.

She has performed at leading venues, such as the Hong Kong Cultural Centre, the Sunbeam Theatre in North Point (another famous Cantonese opera theatre in Hong Kong) and the Hong Kong Pavilion at the Shanghai Expo in 2010.

“With daily performances over seven days, the Shanghai Expo was my most memorable event,” says Chloe.

She believes this wonderful performing art form should not only be preserved but also promoted so that Chinese and non-Chinese people of all ages can learn to appreciate it.

“Then the art will flourish in the years to come,” she says.

Posters

Last revision date: Aug 28, 2018

首页   我的颜色: 颜色1 颜色2
字型大小 A A A
Share with Facebook Share with Weibo Share with Google+ Share with WeChat 以电子邮件分享

艺术与文化

艺术文化重镇

香港,东西文化在这里交汇,是活力十足的艺术文化都会。

这里每年的文化活动多姿多采,中西乐团、爵士乐队、电影节、艺术节、国际表演项目,以及本地超级巨星的演出接踵而来。

各式各样的节庆,例如:脍炙人口的香港艺术节, 「法国五月」和艺穗节等,吸引世界各地的顶尖艺术家和作品到香港演出。

西九文化区座落在濒临维多利亚港的填海地段,是世界最大规模的文化项目之一。这个文化区将设有各种艺术文化设施,届时可提升香港作为知名艺术文化中心的地位。

来,见‧识香港!你我的香港。

东西文化交汇-中法裔女孩醉心粤剧

粤剧是中国传统艺术,近年渐受年青人喜爱,吴尔澄(Chloe Ng Brossard)是其中一位。她生于加拿大温哥华,自小对粤剧着迷;年仅3岁,已经在当地台上献唱粤剧《帝女花》。2010年,她以9岁之龄于上海世博会演出,令观众惊叹。

粤剧在香港蓬勃发展,更是香港第一个列入联合国教科文组织《人类非物质文化遗产代表作名录》的本地传统文化项目。

在香港,粤剧舞台包括在乡村搭建的竹棚戏台,以及历史建筑,例如於2012年改建为粤剧表演场地的油麻地戏院及附近的红砖屋。油麻地戏院是九龙区硕果仅存的第2次世界大战前戏院,红砖屋则建於1895年。

西九文化区将发展为新兴文化枢纽,位处其中的戏曲中心已具雏型,在未来本地粤剧发展会担当重要角色。戏曲中心将成为香港首个顶级艺术中心,标志着粤剧由传统戏棚或戏院,走进现代剧院,也为中国戏曲表演场地订下全新的国际标准。

尔澄的母亲Samantha说:「当尔澄还在学步时,我经常收听大戏,因此她从少便开始认识粤剧。」

「当年我们仍住在温哥华。有一天,她突然唱起其中一首曲目,令我很惊讶!她父亲遂提议我在粤剧方面多教导她。后来有些朋友听过她唱粤曲,便邀请她在农历新年的晚饭聚会中表演。」

2006年,尔澄举家移居香港,她也开始到粤剧学校接受正统训练。

她说:「我的父亲是法国人,母亲是中国人,中西文化的背景令我对多元文化产生浓厚兴趣,其中粤剧的文化传统,尤其化妆、戏服和功架深深吸引着我。」

尔澄曾在具代表性的场地演出,包括香港文化中心、香港著名粤剧剧场「新光戏院」和2010年上海世博会香港馆。

尔澄说:「在舞台经验方面,印像最深刻的就是在上海世博会连续7天的演出。」

她认为,粤剧是精彩的表演艺术,不仅应予以保留,还要多加推广,令更多中外人士懂得欣赏。

她说:「我深信,粤剧在不久将来必定广受欢迎。」

海报

修订日期: 2018年8月28日