15 Jul, 2015 12:7 HKT
32°C 75%
Fonts size A A A

Evolution of Brand Hong Kong

  • History

    The idea of “branding” Hong Kong emerged in 1997 when much attention focused on Hong Kong’s return to the Motherland. It was the ideal time to shape a visionary unique identity for Hong Kong. 

    The Commission on Strategic Development, a group of senior public and private sector representatives advising the Chief Executive, recommended in 2000 that: “...Hong Kong needs to promote its unique position as one of the most cosmopolitan and vibrant cities in Asia to a wide range of international audiences. A successful external promotion programme can have a significant positive impact on Hong Kong’s ability to achieve a number of key economic, social and cultural objectives.” 

    In short, Hong Kong needed to identify its own unique brand. To prepare for the launch of the BrandHK programme, the HKSAR Government commissioned a team of international communications experts to research the city’s core values and attributes and develop a strategy to position the city. 

    A year of extensive research and consultation was carried out among opinion leaders in Hong Kong and overseas. The findings concluded that the positioning as “Asia’s world city” best reflected the city” best reflected the city’s unique features – Hong Kong as a natural, vital and multicultural gateway not only to and from China but also to the rest of Asia and beyond. 

    Research at that time showed that the top five core values associated with Hong Kong were: progressive, free, stable, opportunity and high quality. The most recognisable attributes were: innovative, cosmopolitan, enterprising, leader and connected. 

    The challenge of designing a unique visual identity reflecting Hong Kong’s values and attributes involved various international and Hong Kong-based design studios. Numerous designs were considered and those shortlisted were rigorously tested in Hong Kong and abroad. 

    The survey showed that the stylised dragon incorporating the letters H K and the Chinese characters for Hong Kong – 香港 – was well received and easily understood by both local and international groups. It represented Hong Kong’s continuing link with a historical and cultural icon. A combination of modernity and antiquity, the dragon also symbolises the meeting of East and West that makes Hong Kong so special.

    Hong Kong Logo

    BrandHK was launched in May 2001 before an international audience at the Fortune Global Forum in Hong Kong.

    Since then, BrandHK has been the global communications platform that provides maximum synergy for a number of stakeholders who have an interest in promoting Hong Kong to different international audiences.

  • Evolution

    Hong Kong is a dynamic, modern city – multi-dimensional and always changing. Like the city it represents, BrandHK must also evolve with the times. 

    In 2008-09, a thorough review of BrandHK was undertaken. A key objective was to create a shared vision for Hong Kong among local people. So, besides research on international perceptions, much emphasis was also placed on public engagement in Hong Kong to gauge the community’s perceptions and aspirations.  

    Results from over a year of consultations and research showed that the brand’s core values and attributes were largely still valid, but the local community had stronger aspirations for quality living and sustainable development. Innovation and creativity also became more important for Hong Kong to maintain its competitiveness as a world city in Asia.  

    Analysis of views made a clear case for retaining the dragon icon and the brand positioning which had built up considerable “brand equity” over the years. Both were well recognised in connection with Hong Kong. In particular, most agreed that the city was even more “Asia’s world city” than it was at the start of the millennium. 

    As a result of the review, the brand’s core values and attributes were aligned to the new findings, while the visual identity was modified to include elements to make it appear more dynamic.  

    The revitalised BrandHK was launched in Hong Kong in March 2010 and introduced to international and mainland audiences at the 2010 World Expo in Shanghai.

首頁   我的顏色: 顏色1 顏色2
2016年7月15日 12:17 HKT
32°C 75%
字型大小 A A A

香港品牌的演進

  • 品牌歷史

    設立「香港品牌」的意念,始於1997年。當時,香港回歸祖國備受國際關注,正是理想時機,為香港塑造富於前瞻性的獨特身份。

    由公營部門及私營機構的資深代表組成的策略發展委員會,在2000年向行政長官建議:「香港應在國際間廣泛宣傳,樹立其獨特形象,讓更多人認識這個朝氣蓬勃的亞洲國際都會。如果宣傳奏效,對香港實現經濟、社會和文化的重要目標必定大有幫助。」

    總的來說,香港必須擁有能代表這個城市的獨特品牌。為展開「香港品牌」計劃,香港特別行政區政府聘請了國際傳訊專家,探究香港的核心價值和特質,並發展策略為香港定位。

    歷時一年向香港和海外輿論領袖的廣泛諮詢和調查發現,「亞洲國際都會」是最能反映香港特質的品牌主題,香港不單是往來中國內地的最佳大門,也連通亞洲及世界各地。

    調查顯示首5個最易令人聯想起香港的核心價值是:文明進步、自由開放、安定平穩、機遇處處、追求卓越;而香港最獲認同的特質則是:大膽創新、都會名城、積極進取、卓越領先及完善網絡。

    為了設計能反映香港的核心價值和特質而又獨一無二的形象標誌,多個國際和香港設計家參與了這項極具挑戰的工作,並提交了眾多不同的設計方案予政府考慮。經篩選後的設計其後分別在香港和海外進行嚴格的測試。

    調查顯示,結合了香港的英文縮寫HK及「香港」兩個中文字的飛龍設計,意念清晰,極受香港及國際受訪者歡迎。飛龍亦代表香港的歷史背景與文化傳統的連繫,糅合了現代和傳統意義,反映香港東西方文化匯聚的特色,因此獲選為新的形象標誌。

    2001年5月,香港舉行「全球財富論壇」,「香港品牌」藉此時機向全世界公布和亮相。自此,「香港品牌」成為相關機構的共用國際宣傳平台,發揮最大的協同效應,向全球推介香港。

  • 香港品牌的演進

    香港品牌的演進

    香港是充滿活力的現代城市 ── 社會多元化而且不斷蛻變演進。猶如所代表的城市,「香港品牌」亦需與時並進。

    為了確定香港人的共同願景,「香港品牌」在2008至09年進行深入的檢討。除了調查國際社會的意見外,檢討過程亦十分着重香港公眾的參與,以了解社會的印象和期望。

    為期超過一年的諮詢和調查顯示,「香港品牌」的核心價值和特質基本不變,但本地社會對優質生活和可持續發展有更高的期望;而創新和創意亦對香港鞏固亞洲國際都會的競爭力愈趨重要。

    檢討清楚顯示,應保留品牌的飛龍形象和多年來卓有成效的品牌定位。這兩方面均已獲廣泛接受,尤其是大多數人認為香港較千禧年代初更具「亞洲國際都會」的地位。

    參考檢討結果,「香港品牌」調整了核心價值和特質,並略作修改形象標誌,加入更顯活力澎湃的元素。

    嶄新面貌的「香港品牌」於2010年3月在香港推出,並在2010年上海世博會介紹給世界各地和內地的群眾。