Fonts size A A A
Share with Facebook Share with Twitter Share with Google+ Share on LinkedIn Share by Email

Green Living

Hong Kong's cityscape is world famous, but did you know that our countryside – just a short distance from urban areas – features a stunning variety of landscapes, including a unique, UNESCO-listed geopark where you can trace how the Earth was formed over millions of years? And did you know that the Mai Po Inner Deep Bay Ramsar Site in rural Hong Kong is a vital transit spot for migratory birds?

In fact, about 70 per cent of Hong Kong's total land area of 1 100 square kilometres is green, and much of this is protected for conservation and recreation. Hong Kong is also home to a splendid variety of flora and fauna, including rare endemic species.

We treasure trees. Fung Shui groves have long been a feature of our villages. The Government have also planted hundreds of thousands trees, shrubs and annuals per year, making a combined total of about 100 million.

We are also greening and cooling urban buildings with roof, podium and vertical greening and eco-friendly engineering. A range of measures to improve air quality is also making Hong Kong a cleaner, greener metropolis.

This is Our Hong Kong. Why not make it Yours?

“A building that adds up to zero”

Hong Kong's first Zero Carbon Building (ZCB) is a solid statement on the city's commitment to combating climate change. The building aims to showcase state-of-the art eco-friendly design and technologies to the local and international construction industry and raise community awareness of low-carbon living in Hong Kong.

The first project completed under the Energizing Kowloon East initiative, ZCB comprises a three-storey building set amidst landscaped surroundings in the heart of Kowloon Bay. The complex deploys over 80 different green building technologies to reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

The Austria-based Energy Globe Foundation awarded the building the National Energy Globe Award 2015, a prestigious international recognition.

Renewable Energy

ZCB generates renewable energy on site in two ways. Photovoltaic panels which transform sunlight into electricity and a tri-generation system, powered by biofuel made of waste cooking oil, combines cooling, heating and power generation.

The energy generated by ZCB in these eco-friendly ways is more than enough for its operations. In other words, it generates a surplus.

The building can constantly monitor itself through more than 2 800 sensing points and optimise the building's environmental performance.

Four microclimate stations, linked to the building management system and the Hong Kong Observatory, monitor how the building interacts with its surroundings.

Native Woodland

A total of 220 native trees of over 40 species and various native shrubs have been planted in the landscaped area of the ZCB. When they flourish, the area will become the first urban native woodland in Hong Kong. This ecosystem will remove air pollutants, benefitting people and the small wildlife for which this place will eventually provide a sanctuary.

Eco-Workplace & Eco-Home

ZCB showcases an eco-workplace and an eco-home to promote innovations in sustainable design and construction and to show how we can live and work in better environments featuring low-carbon design and systems.

Zero Carbon

A collaboration between the Construction Industry Council and the Hong Kong SAR Government, ZCB is designed to register zero net energy consumption and zero carbon emissions over its life cycle. It showcases our state-of-the-art eco-building design and know-how and embodies our commitment to quality living, energy saving, carbon reduction and innovation.

“We actively promote green building technology not only to save energy but also to help save the planet for future generations,” said Conrad Wong, chairman of the Hong Kong Green Building Council. “We have made significant progress.”

Posters

More Stories about Green Living

Hong Kong’s oceanic wonderland
Hong Kong’s 1,650 square kilometre sea area, comprising scenic coasts and seascapes, is rich with marine life: coral teeming with many varieties of fish and crustaceans, rare species
More
Take a walk on Hong Kong’s wild side
Hong Kong’s cityscape is world famous but visitors are often surprised to learn that most of the territory is green. In fact, about 40 percent of
More
Mountain biking hit top gear
With 10 mountain bike trails and areas totaling about 120km in Hong Kong country parks, and more planned, people are enjoying the thrill of mountain biking.
More
'Tis the season for a BBQ!
With 50 free public barbecue sites spread across Hong Kong, all you need do is pack your grub and gear and head to the beach or a country park to enjoy a nice BBQ with your buddies.
More
Camping in Hong Kong? Why not!
About 40 per cent of Hong Kong’s 1,108 square kilometres is protected country park - and there are many
More
Harbourfront Transformation
The waterfront areas of Hong Kong’s iconic Victoria Harbour are being transformed into a more attractive, accessible, vibrant harbourfront.
More
Last revision date: Mar 29, 2018

首頁   我的顏色: 顏色1 顏色2
字型大小 A A A
Share with Facebook Share with Twitter Share with Google+ Share on LinkedIn 以電子郵件分享

綠色生活

香港的都市景觀名聞世界,但你知否我們近在咫尺的郊野擁有多樣化的景致?這包括獲聯合國教科文組織載列的地質公園,其獨特的地貌讓你追溯地球在數百萬年前是如何形成的。你又知否位於郊野的米埔濕地是候鳥遷徙路線上的重要停棲地?

事實上,面積共1 100平方公里的香港土地,其中約7成為草木覆蓋,大部分受到保護作保育和休憩用途。香港動植物品種繁多,包括罕有的本地物種。

我們珍惜林木。風水林素來是香港村落的特色。政府每年種植的樹木總數達數十萬、灌木和年生植物,令全港的林木總數約達一億棵。

我們亦利用天台、平台和垂直綠化及符合環保原則的工程,綠化都市建築物和降低建築物的溫度。政府實行多項措施改善空氣質素令香港變成更潔淨和環保的大都會。

來,見‧識香港!你我的香港。

綠色香港 - 環保建築物開創新天地

香港首座零碳建築──「零碳天地」是這個城市對抗氣候變化的莊嚴承諾。這座建築物向本地和國際建造業展示先進的綠色建築設計與技術,並提高市民對低碳生活模式的關注。

「零碳天地」是政府「起動九龍東」計劃首個完成的項目,座落九龍灣心臟地帶,樓高3層,旁為綠化區。這座建築物採用了80多項綠色建築技術,以減低溫室氣體排放。

奧地利的全球能源基金會頒發備受國際尊崇的2015年國際全球能源獎予「零碳天地」。

再生能源

「零碳天地」從兩方面就地產生可再生能源。它用光伏板把陽光轉化為電能,並有一個用生物柴油驅動的三聯供應系統,兼備製冷、製熱、發電功能。

「零碳天地」採用這些善待環境的方法生產能源,自用有餘。它可以通過2 800多個感應點不斷監察環境變化,優化建築物的環保功效。

4個微氣候監察站監察着建築物與周邊環境的互動,並與建築物的管理系統和香港天文台相連接。

原生林

「零碳天地」在園林區種植了220棵逾40個品種的原生樹,還有各種原生灌木。到它們茂盛生長起來,香港首個都市原生林將會產生。這個生態系統可以淨化空氣,對人有益,並會成為細小野生物種的庇護所。

綠色工作間與綠色家居

「零碳天地」展示的綠色工作間和綠色家居,將推動可持續設計與建築的創新,讓人們見識如何在低碳設計和系統裝置下,得以在更好的環境中工作和生活。

零碳排放

「零碳天地」由香港建築業議會與香港特區政府共同建立,這座建築物在整個生命周期中,其淨能源消耗和碳排放均低至0,展示了香港先進的環保建築設計和技術,充分實現香港人對優質生活和節能減碳的承諾,是勇於創新的體現。

香港綠色建築議會主席黃天祥先生說:「我們積極推廣綠色建築技術,不只是為了節約能源,更是為了下一代着想,保護地球。」

海報

修訂日期: 2018年8月6日