Fonts size A A A
Share with Facebook Share with Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share by Email

Greater Bay Area

The Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (Greater Bay Area) brings together the two Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macao and nine municipalities in Guangdong Province. Covering 56,000 square kilometres (about three times the size of the San Francisco Bay Area), the Greater Bay Area has a combined population of over 72 million people and GDP of around US$1,679.5 billion.

The Greater Bay Area Development aims to harness the collective strengths of the region through co-ordinated economic development, with innovation and technology as a key focus. With a wealth of talent and professionals in I&T as well as financial, legal and professional services together with its positioning as Asia’s world city, Hong Kong will play a prime role in taking forward the Greater Bay Area Development. Hong Kong’s business-friendly environment, low taxes, rule of law, free economy, modern infrastructure, I&T capabilities, and robust intellectual property protection will all help businesses and individuals to connect and excel in this exciting new global economic zone.

Download our Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area fact sheet for more information


Last revision date: Mar 4, 2019

Press Releases

Greater Bay Area

Last revision date: Jun 10, 2021